Argo-Fudge Yourself!

1

Since Jason and I frequent the budget cinema for “Toonie-Tuesdays” and last week it was my turn to choose which movie we saw, we went to see Argo. I knew a bit about what it was about the premise from seeing the occasional trailer, but I had no idea it would have the impact it did. Since Rainbow Cinema is a budget cinema, each screening room is cozy and the opening credits that ask the audience to turn off their cell phones and buy some popcorn are laughable. (These credits remind me of the opening credits of You’ve Got Mail.

2

There was a couple with a young girl wearing a shirt that said “Glitter is my favorite color” who may have mistakenly come to Argo when they meant to see Rise of the Guardians who was sitting to the right of us. The theatre is always packed on “Toonie-Tuesdays” and last Tuesday was no exception.  There were no more than 10 seats unfilled. (Again, this is a tiny theatre, so it felt extra cramped.)

The movie started off in the thick of the action with the Tehran students storming the American Embassy and the 6 escapees making their way to the Canadian Ambassador’s house. I was immediately sucked in. Clenched.

 3

As the film went on, the crush I had on Ben Affleck as a teenager crept back (he lost my love with Daredevil). It may have been the intelligent, selfless CIA agent thing… it may have been the beard… probably a combination of both.

4

I usually have to get up to pee about every 30 minutes, whether I am at the movies or not, but somehow I managed to stay in my seat throughout the entire movie. There wasn’t a lull long enough to go even if I had to!


SPOILER ALERT:

You know that feeling you get at a play or a movie or while you are reading a book when you completely suspend your disbelief and forget you are in a theatre full of people and are completely alone with the story? A part of the story? I love that feeling! Argo did that for me. When Tony Mendez (Affleck) and the 6 escapees were going through the bizarre to the time the plane took off for Switzerland I don’t recall breathing. As far as I was concerned, I was just as invested as the characters on the screen – if they got caught, we would all die.

As soon as the movie was over, I noticed how sweaty my palms were and how sore my lower back was from being in such a clenched state for 121 minutes of tension. I talked endlessly about how amazing the movie was and drove Jason nuts on the car ride home and texted everyone I knew that if they haven’t seen Argo to go watch it. Once I was out of my coat and boots I sat down to do some preliminary research on Tony Mendez and Argo or the Canadian Caper, as I learned it has been referred to. I also found the real Mendez’s memoir Argo: How the CIA and Hollywood Pulled Off the Most Audacious Rescue in History on Amazon.

5

A couple of days later I found a single copy at a nearby bookstore. Needless to say, I am currently reading it. I am a slow reader, but got through about half of it in one sitting. I had a difficult time putting it down to eat dinner.

A couple of days ago I got a text from my step-mom: Argo-fuck yourself! We liked the movie too!

6

I can’t wait until it comes out on video!

2 thoughts on “Argo-Fudge Yourself!

Let Me Know What You Think!

