In Admiration of Batwoman and Her Creators

Since Jason had a lot of studying to do this Saturday, I spent much of the day re-reading issues of comics about my favorite character: Batwoman. J.H. Williams III is an incredible artist and I love what he does with this comic book. I first fell in love with the work he did in Batwoman: Elegy:

Detective-Comics-857-Page-18-191-1024x804

Your eye snakes through the pictorial mazes and word bubbles, until you realize you have spent at least twice as much time soaking in each page as you would on most comic books. The only way I can describe it is visual poetry.

Not only is the artwork incredible, but the writing is wonderful too. Though things could get a little cheesy when she battles a ghost type figure (Batwoman #1 – 5) and such, Haden Blackman writes it in a way that allows me to look beyond the supernatural and suspend my disbelief. Batwoman’s battles as a vigilante are amazing, but the care put into her alter ego, Kate Kane’s, story is just as engaging if not more so. Kate was an Army soldier until she was discharged under “don’t ask, don’t tell” when it was found out that she was a lesbian. This character is a great LGBTQ role model and few of the LGBTQ characters in comic books. Her lesbianism is treated the same way any comic book characters love life would be treated and does not feel like a novelty.

katekane

After being discharged, Kate decides to serve and protect the only way she believes she can, by becoming Batwoman. I won’t say much beyond this in case any of my amazing readers is interested in reading Elegy or any of the New 52 Batwoman comics.

Here is my version of Batwoman, I am no J.H. Williams III, but I think it turned out pretty good:

Batwoman

6 thoughts on “In Admiration of Batwoman and Her Creators

  1. wwayne

    Congrats for recommending Batwoman: Elegy. It’s one of the most beautiful comics I’ve ever read, from an aesthetic point of view – and story wasn’t bad, of course, since the writer was Greg Rucka, a man I will always look up to because of his amazing run on Gotham Central.
    Another worthy series belonging to the New 52 line definitely is Animal Man. It’s the best thing DC is publishing right now, along with Batman: Arkham Unhinged.
    And, if you like comics with a deep and interesting woman as the leading character, I do suggest you to read Witchblade. It faced a sort of reboot from issue # 151, and it’s been pure awesomeness each month since then.

    Reply
    1. mindymwm Post author

      I agree, Greg Rucka is a good one. I love Animal Man – Jeff Lemire is a brilliant writer. Thanks for the heads up on Witchblade, I will add it to my list of books to check out. What are your thoughts on the New 52 Swamp Thing and Batman by Scott Snyder? The runs of Batgirl and Supergirl have been pretty good too. I feel like the New 52 Supergirl run is giving us a lot of what we are not currently getting with Superman.

      Reply
      1. wwayne

        I have a sixth sense for comic books that makes me understand whether I would enjoy one of them only by leafing through it for a few seconds, and usually I don’t make mistakes. For example, at a convention I leafed through the first TP of Swamp Thing, and I immediately understood it was a very remarkable read. But only when I started reading it in my bedroom I understood I had bumped into an instant classic.
        As for Batgirl and Supergirl, I didn’t try them yet, but, being a huge fan of Barbara’s former lover Nightwing, Babs will always have a special spot in my heart.
        Just a few days ago I read a retelling of the first encounter between Babs and Dick (it was collected in this volume I bought some years ago: http://www.dccomics.com/graphic-novels/batgirl-the-greatest-stories-ever-told). The plot is pretty simple, but what makes that story so enjoyable is the unique chemistry between the 2 leading characters. It succeeds in showing us that Babs and Dick are kindred spirits, and to some extent they understood that from their very first encounter.
        After reading such a sweet and heart warming story, you feel very happy for having read it, but also very sorry, because you know that the relationship between Babs and Dick didn’t have a happy ending. Yes, of course they remained friends, but the chemistry that story showed us so well doesn’t exist anymore. You feel ridiculous for being so sorry, and you tell yourself “Hey, they’re comic book characters, not real people!”, but you can’t help it, you feel sad anyway.
        When you watch a movie, it’s more or less the same situation: you know there’s nothing real in it, but it stirs up emotions in you anyway. Unless it’s a very boring movie, of course. But I’m going off the point, so I’d better stop myself. Thank you for your reply! : )

      2. mindymwm Post author

        I completely understand about connecting to characters that much – I am way to easily able to suspend my disbelief and befriend characters. (Besides, Babs and Dick is such a great interaction.) Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love chatting about comics!

  2. comicsonice

    I am catching up on the series now. I love a strong female lead, but the art is what makes this book a MUST read for me. I don’t know when the last time I saw something this consistently gorgeous in a serialized book might have been. I like what you’re doing here, think we might be kindred spirits.

    Reply
    1. mindymwm Post author

      I agree, the artwork in this book is beyond what I have seen in any other series. Also, thanks for the compliment. I briefly looked at your blog and love what you had to say about Revival, which I just started reading. I was initially drawn to it because I grew up in Wisconsin, but have kept reading because of the strong female cast of characters. You may be right, we may in fact be kindred spirits.

      Reply

Let Me Know What You Think!

