Planning a Wisconsin wedding is difficult to do when you live in Canada!

I am currently attempting to plan our December 31 wedding FOR THIS YEAR that will take place in my hometown; however, I live in Saskawtchwan! We want to get married this year because we are going home and do not know when we will be able to afford going back to Wisconsin. When I Skyped home to tell my dad and step-mom, she figured that I would want to have the wedding before the end of the year (she knows me so well!).

Originally, we wanted a small wedding of about 50 people – just close friends and immediate family at the beautiful house that my dad built, covered in snow and candles for an intimate New Year’s wedding get together. Now, a week after our engagement, we will be inviting about 120 people (give or take a few cousins – my dad still has to get me the final list). My dad and sister have been running around like crazy booking venues, caterers, and hotel suites. I have not left my computer for more than a couple of hours when I have to sleep since Jason proposed!

Everyone is working so hard, but I feel like Oracle (Batgirl after she was shot in the spine by the Joker and bound to her wheelchair). All I can do to help plan my wedding is sit in front of my computer and tell other people what to do.

Photo: I feel like Oracle (Batgirl after she was shot in the spine by the Joker and bound to her wheelchair). All I can do to help plan my wedding is sit in front of my computer and tell other people what to do.
Yesterday, Jason and I finally had enough money to start buying small things for the wedding. Since I am crafty, I want to make as much of the wedding decor as possible. Since I make fabric flower hair accessories and jewelry, we will not need a florist. I cannot see the point in spending hundreds of dollars on flowers that will wilt soon after the wedding when I can make fabric flowers that will last a lifetime and are meaningful to me since they are hand crafted and took time and effort to create.
Today, the DIY wedding toppers I ordered last week arrived! They are little wooden peg people that can be made to look like the bride and groom. I decided on these after looking at several cake toppers that are all skinny blonde women and superman shaped tall men, that it wouldn’t make sense. I am curvy and brunette and Jason is lanky and on the shorter side. We both wear glasses and none of them come premade with glasses. So these will become us and will adorn our cake (which my lovely sister Megan will be making at the bakery where she works). However, I have to wait until we get Jason’s wedding attire and until my wedding dress arrives.
I didn’t want the cookie cutter invitations either, so these are the ones I made up:
They are loosely based on the invitations a friend of mine sent out last summer for her wedding. I loved the idea of having a short timeline of our relationship on the back. These will be printed front to back and guests will RSVP by phone or on our wedding website to save time and postage.
After one week of wedding planning, things are coming together like crazy! I can’t believe it! I ordered my dress and shoes:
I had to get the Sex and the City shoes, but I had to get them in flats so I can actually walk and dance (and so I don’t tower over Jason) – the original pumps are 4 inches tall!
6 thoughts on “Planning a Wisconsin wedding is difficult to do when you live in Canada!

    1. mindymw Post author

      It is! I have never cried so much over such small things in my life! (I usually don’t realize they aren’t THAT big of a deal until after an hour of sniffling and blubbering like a doofus). Jason is so amazing at diffusing my bridal meltdowns and has been so helpful with wedding decisions; and my family has been a huge help as they are running all over Oshkosh getting everything reserved for the wedding.

      Reply
  1. Valentine Logar

    You are doing great! Planning can be terrible, there are a couple of great sites that are helpful only that they provide good lists that let you just check things off and they provide good resources. Have you found these?

    Reply
  2. Ashley

    Congratulations! Your wedding is going to be beautiful. Also, you picked the PERFECT shoes. I fell in love with those the second I saw them on the screen.

    Reply

Let Me Know What You Think!

