Female Experience Poetry

As a woman and a feminist, I tend to focus a lot of my writing on the female experience. Much of it is persona poems (like the Frida Kahlo poems I recently posted), but sometimes I write from personal experience. These are a few pieces I wrote for my final undergraduate project.

Calves

Mindy M. Wara

My calves fat and overflowing –
won’t squeeze into knee high boots.
These calves wish they could be encased,
hugged by fashionable leather.
They are hidden under wide-leg jeans and flowing skirts.
Boots won’t zip past the ankle.

What’s the point of shaving those that will be masked
and slimmed by dark tights?
I am cursed with my mother’s calves, solid
and thick as rocks.

Spider Veins

Mindy M. Wara

Violet webbing wraps itself around my calves, thighs, and breasts.
I can trace the branches away from my knee.
Slightly raised, they threaten weight and aging with varicose veins.

My mother’s insecurity over hers,
my grandmother’s and hers before that.

Spindly chutes and ladders tattooed under the surface of my skin –
my own personal tree rings –
a sign of living.

Carpe Diem

Mindy M. Wara

I quiver as eight needles prick my virginal skin.
The buzz vibrates my ears like hard ass humming birds.
The 22 year old piercer/poet with koi fish sleeves told me
it would feel like deep cat scratches.

My 18 year old pores open and welcome
the permanent ink into my ivory hip.
Jonathon, the Catholic tattoo artist with gauged ears
the size of 50 cent pieces and a bull ring through his septum,
brings his beard close to my pelvis to get a better look
at his freshest etch and tells me
to expect a scab.

My mother will think I am punishing her.
My father will be furious.

2 thoughts on “Female Experience Poetry

  1. canadagoosejakkenorge.info

    I’m commenting to make you understand what a beneficial experience my daughter gained viewing the blog. She figured out such a lot of details, including what it’s like to possess a wonderful teaching mood to get a number of people clearly grasp various tricky issues. You undoubtedly did more than her expectations. I appreciate you for providing these warm and friendly, safe, informative not to mention unique tips about your topic to Evelyn.

    Reply

Let Me Know What You Think!

